justkarkar

The First Day of the Rest of My Life

Posted on: January 1, 2012

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!! *blows blower thingy*

Resolutions.

Zombie Kara. 1/1/2012, 1:57am. Awake for 20.5 hours by this point.

2011 was a good year. Made some dope friends, some awesome memories, good and bad, but let’s get on with it already.

Rang in 2012 at the church on the corner. It was comedic and I enjoyed it, but I wish I hadn’t been in zombie mode. My sleep has been crappy for the past couple days and it’s showing in my face. Four hours max per night, cuz my mind is racing.

However, I decided to photo journal 2012 since it is the end of the world and all, and I need some accountability. Plus, my memory… Yeah, we need evidence.

Before I get into that food stuff, I would like to say that I got a call back about my resume that excited me, but it stumped me cuz they asked for my salary requirement up front. WTF???

So. last night was my final starch hurrah. I had every intention of black-eyed peas and rice being my first food of 2012 (symbolizes luck and prosperity, not that I”m superstitious, much), but when I opened the microwave to reheat the beans, there was the chicken I fried earlier and I got sidetracked by deliciousness. Three bites in, I remembered. It was delicious. I am proud of myself every time something comes out right. It’s also diet approved. Basically just beans, smoked turkey, seasonings and water, ya know… They’re better w/rice (brown, of course), but I’ll live.

I also, last night, killed a bottle of wine, some rum and a can of beer. smh. Carb-loading for the long winter. I know it was technically already today, but I said it wouldn’t start until I woke up this morning for that very reason. Holiday season is over, I got all the it in that I possibly could, and now I’m going cold turkey.

I’ve been on point since I woke up. Breakfast was a one-egg omelet with smoked turkey, red onion, green pepper, tomato and a light sprinkling of 2% cheddar. Lunch was about a cup each of black-eyed peas (sans rice) and collard greens. I had a reduced sodium mozzarella cheese stick for a snack, and dinner will be jerk chicken (baked, of course), black-eyed peas and greens. Yeah, I made half a small crock pot each of the beans and greens, so they’re going in every meal til they’re gone.

Weigh-in day is tomorrow, so I can’t really say where I am right now. I didn’t do any physical activity today (cuz I’m hungover and horribly sleep deprived) so I have no epic wins to share except my food choices. I don’t know the points values, but I know that’s a good day, deprivationally speaking. (18 points total. I need to eat more)

Tomorrow’s supposed to be bitter cold, but my intention is to start Cool Running’s Couch-to-5K® Running Plan.

  • Resolution 1: Take a picture of myself every day for a year – Did it
  • Resolution 2: Couch to 5K Plan – not so much
  • Resolution 3: Low-fat and carb-free for two weeks then low-fat and low-, but healthy carb for 2012 – WINNING

xo

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Najeema: I've got the same plans (and posterboard on my kitchen table) for a vision board. I'll share mine if you share yours, lol. Hoping you attract everythi
  • NVRGVUP: Love is where it's at!
