justkarkar

Cornbread. My final fat act of 2011.

Posted on: December 31, 2011

An e-mail I sent my mom this morning and decided to share:

So, Debo… I modified the recipe a little. It’s kinda dense and chock full of sweet, buttery deliciousness, so go easy on em (I have eaten them with breakfast, lunch and dinner, and it’s hard to eat just one) and do NOT put butter on them before you eat them. I know you, and just trust me…

I kinda combined your and one of my girlfriend’s recipes. I basically make them the way you do with all the added ingredients, but Christal makes it in a cake pan and swirls a mixture of honey and melted butter across the top, so I added that, but one day, I ran out of honey, so I decided to try it with brown sugar instead. Then, last night, I stumbled onto perfection… I didn’t measure everything out, but here’s my best recollection.

Try it and tell me what you think…

Preheat oven to 500 degrees (yes, 500 – you’ll turn it down when you put the muffins in).

Whisk together dry ingredients and beat out clumps:

  • 1 box Jiffy cornbread mix
  • 2 level tablespoons flour
  • 1 tablespoon non-dairy creamer
  • 1/4 cup loose brown sugar (not packed tight like most recipes say – I use light brown, but I guess dark brown would be ok)
  • Somewhere between a pinch and 1/4 teaspoon salt (salt enhances sweet flavors, but you don’t want too much)
Add wet ingredients and mix w/electric mixer, (use fork to mash out lumps):
  • 1/4 cup liquid egg whites (or a single egg, but I try to spare my arteries cuz of all the butter and what not)
  • 1/4 cup skim milk (u can use whatever milk you normally drink, but again, I try to lighten it up)
  • 1/2 stick melted butter (SALTED butter)
  • 1/2 cup light sour cream (you can use regular, but again…)

Drop one heaping tablespoon of batter into 12 muffin cups (it should divide up perfectly even). I use paper liners, but honestly, you’re better off without them because the butter greases the pan for you, and just soaks thru the paper liners anyway. Tap the pan on the counter repeatedly (lift it about an inch off the counter and drop it a dozen or so times) to raise air pockets and level out the batter.

Melt half a stick of salted butter, and pour/drizzle exactly one teaspoon onto the top of each muffin, then drizzle a light swirl of honey (approximately 1 teaspoon) on top of that.

Turn oven down to 400 and bake for 17 minutes. They’ll come out flat, lightly browned, and slightly crunchy on top, and when you taste them it’s like A PARTY IN YOUR MOUTH!!! The tiny bit of salt from the drizzled butter remains on top, but the honey sinks to the bottom, so the salty and sweet hit your tastebuds separately then combine for awesomeness.

What do you think? Any suggestions for improvement?

I’ll let you know when I figure out how to skip the Jiffy mix altogether.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Najeema: I've got the same plans (and posterboard on my kitchen table) for a vision board. I'll share mine if you share yours, lol. Hoping you attract everythi
  • NVRGVUP: Love is where it's at!
